*Note: 1 day early this week due to travel! 

‘This week in #graphicmedicine’ highlights relevant articles (and tweets) about comics in medicine published during a the week (Saturday – Friday). Articles are typically presented without commentary, with credit given to those who flagged them up where possible. So without further ado…


Other Updates

This weekend is Thought Bubble UK in Leeds! For those of you in the UK, there will be dozens of artists who work with graphic medicine in attendance – not to mention the hundreds of amazing artists generally. I’m jealous of those of you that get to go and I’ll be on the look out for updates on social media!

Over the course of this week, I have been tweeting out numerous (almost spam-level) PubMed links to graphic medicine scholarship under the #graphicmedicine hashtag. This is an effort to both boost awareness of this scholarship and a way to help me keep track of what I have/have not added to the Graphic Medicine in the Academy page. I’m working my way through 2014 now. Any articles that I have tweeted or linked on that page, I have full-text access to – so if you don’t, please reach out to me and I’ll try to help fix that problem. (Viva la Open Access!)


Articles & More… 

Comic Excerpt: The Prozac Story — Where Do Drugs Come From? via @TylerPage

Webcomic: ‘Cut down on the pies’: Should doctors tell it like it is? – cartoon via @TheBadDr

Webcomic: I was 12 and Suicidal. Cleaning Cat Piss for A Year Made Me Realize I Wasn’t Worthless. – via @DamiAnimated

Webcomic: Killer Croutons… and Other Ways My Wheat-Allergic Cousin Has Nearly Died via @EaDemarco

Webcomic: Salter-Harris Fractures Remix via @MedComic

Webcomic: From Russia With Love… A CancerOwl Comic

Webcomic: Happening Under Your Nose: An Update on the Largest Prison Strike in US History, Now Ongoing via @TheNib

Scholarly: Annals Graphic Medicine – The Moment

Scholarly: Painting Dose: The ART of Radiation.

Scholarly: Childhood idols, shifting from superheroes to public health heroes.

Sixteen Anatomic Mnemonics via @Age_Matters

Lynda Barry on comics, creativity and Matt Groening: ‘We both disdain each other’s lives’

Harrison Wheeler Creates Comics Inspired by Mental Illness and the Workplace

Marvel unveils five new heroes in superhero comic giving people with disease a voice

FINISHED! Graphic memoir update via @Paula_JKnight


Tweets…


Some great stuff this week! Did I miss something? Let me know in the comments below or tweet @NoetheMatt! Until next time..

